Board of Education Members

Denise Buczko, President

Todd Schaefer, Vice President

Amy Ezekiel

Colleen Faupel

James McMillan

Therese Marmion

Richard Taibi

Jennifer Ritondo

William Stauts

Oaklyn Board of Education

The Oaklyn Board of Education is a 9-member board comprised of residents of Oaklyn. Members serve for three years. A listing of the current Board members and their terms of office, can be found to the left.

School Board members uphold and enforce all laws, rules, and regulations of the State Board of Education, and court orders pertaining to schools. Responsibility of School Board Members in New Jersey is confined to policy making, planning and appraisal, and helping to frame policies and plans after consultation with those affected by them. A Board member’s responsibility is not to administer the schools, but to see that they are well run. Each member of a Board of Education, before entering upon the duties of his office, takes an oath of office and is required to abide by a state-mandated Code of Ethics for School Board Members which includes making decisions in terms of the educational welfare of children and developing and maintaining public schools that meet the individual needs of all children regardless of ability, race, creed, sex, or social standing. The Oaklyn School Board is a member of the New Jersey School Boards Association.

Qualifications to become a school board member in the State of New Jersey include being a citizen and resident of the district for at least one year immediately preceding election; be able to read and write; be registered to vote in the district, and not to be disqualified as a voter. Information on running for a seat on the Board of Education can be found here.

We welcome the public to attend all meetings of the Oaklyn Board of Education. The meetings are typically held at 6:30 PM in the Oaklyn Public School Media Center on the third Tuesday of each month, except in the event of holidays. Meeting dates can be found below. 

Board of Education Meetings

The regular meetings of the Oaklyn Board of Education will be held at 6:00 P.M. (private session) with the public portion beginning at 6:30pm (Committee of the Whole followed by the business portion of the meeting). Board of Education meetings are held in the Oaklyn Public School Media Center on the third Tuesday of each month, except as noted.

In accordance with the New Jersey Open Public Meetings Act, Chapter 231, P.L. 1975, notice is hereby given that the following is a list of meetings of the Oaklyn Board of Education until the next Reorganization Meeting in January 2024.

            All such meetings are to be held in the School Library, 136 Kendall Boulevard, Oaklyn, New Jersey, beginning at 6:30 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month with the exception of July when the Board does not meet and the exceptions listed below.  In the event an Executive Session is required, the Board of Education will meet at 6:00 p.m. prior to the Regular Board Meeting.  Formal official action may be taken at such meetings on any and all business involving the school district.

Tuesday, January 3 , 2023

Reorganization Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, January 17, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Saturday January 21, 2023

Board Retreat– 9:00 am at LMC

Tuesday, February 21 2023

Board of Education meeting 6:30 PM

Tuesday, March 14, 2023 (2nd Tuesday)

Special Meeting- 6:30 pm (Budget Submission to County)

Tuesday March 21, 2023

Special Meeting - 6:30 pm

Tuesday, April 25, 2023 (4th Tuesday)

Board of Education Meeting- 6:30 pm (Public Hearing on the Budget)

Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Wednesday, June 14, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, August 15, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, September 19, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, October 17, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, November 21, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Board of Education Meeting – 6:30PM

Tuesday, January 2, 2024 (1st Tuesday)

Reorganization Meeting – 6:30PM